THE EMIRATES RACING AUTHORITY (ERA) this week announced the ‘Racing Oscar Awards’ under the directives of His Highness Sheikh Mansoor bin Zayed Al Nahyan, the Deputy Prime Minister of the UAE and Minister of Presidential Affairs and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Emirates Racing Authority.

Sheikh Rashid bin Dalmook Al Maktoum, Vice Chairman of the ERA, expressed his appreciation to Sheikh Mansoor for launching the new initiative, which aims to recognise and promote excellence in the industry and encourage the horse racing community to achieve more success.

Sheikh Rashid said the awards will feature several categories that recognise individuals who have added value to the industry, but are rarely in the spotlight, such as media professionals and other unsung heroes. The awards will also honour pioneers in the industry who have played a pivotal role in developing the equestrian sector in the country.

Sheikh Rashid said exact details of the awards will be announced at a later stage, adding racing specialists will be partly involved in the voting process. The evaluation procedure of the awards will follow the highest standards of transparency and integrity and there will also be an independent jury to evaluate entries. Horse racing fans and media representatives will also get the opportunity to be involved in the selection process.

Award Categories

The awards have been divided into several categories with the season’s Champion Owner, Trainer and Jockey also part of the scheme. The awards also include the ‘Founders Award’, which aims to honour founders of local races who have left a lasting legacy on the industry, as well as the ‘Unsung Heroes Award’ that will recognise specific individuals working behind the scenes.

Also part of the category line-up are the Pat Smullen Exceptional Ride of the Season, Up and Coming Owner, Rising Jockey, Best Initiative and Racegoer awards. A number of awards have been reserved for the media as well and include the ‘Best Media Coverage Award’ for Arab and English press, the ‘Best TV Coverage Award’, ‘Best Photo Award’ and ‘Best Social Media Award’.