Last phase sprint helps Emirates Stables clinch 120km ride at Bouthib

  • Last phase sprint helps Emirates Stables clinch 120km ride at Bouthib

A TERRIFIC run from Conderosa Crios in the last phase witnessed Emirates Stables snatch a fine success in the CEN 120km Endurance Ride at Bouthib International Endurance Village. The 9yo gelding, trained by Jairo Rodriguez Berenguer, was guided expertly by Ikramudheen Shokat Ali during the course of the four loops, with the pair staying inside the top five over the first two loops and then contesting the fourth and final loop from second position.

Ali and Conderosa Crios rode at 24kph, a ferocious pace by Bouthib standards, having found themselves trailing by over two minutes. And they ended up well clear as they were clocked at five hours 40 minutes and 20 seconds as they completed the ride at an average speed of 20.7kph. It might have been very disappointing for Sri Lankan rider Niroshan Periyalagan, who had to settle for second place after dominating three-quarters of the way on the back of the Al Aasfa Stables-owned Driss De Flauzins.

Periyalagan moved to the top at the end of the 40km first loop, with two of his compatriots holding on to the next two positions. Ali was fourth, a little under five minutes behind, but managed to reduce the margin to Periyalagan to 2:47s with a marginal reduction of speed during the course of the 30km second loop.

The Indian rider was able to improve his time further during the third loop spanning 31.9km and was 2:18s behind Periyalagan heading into the final phase over 20.07km. And with a monumental increase in pace, having reserved a lot in the tank of Conderosa Crios, the pair were able to push big time and scored comfortably, winning with 15:29s to spare in the end as Periyalagan and Driss De Flauzins clocked 5:57:43.

They were still well ahead of third placed Al Aasfa 2 Endurance Stables’ pair of Crystal Beau and Emirati rider Ali Ghaleb Alawbthani, who were clocked at 6:17:33.

  • HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid

    HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum