Al Ansaari revs up a bit to win Al Taseera Ride at DIEC

  • Al Ansaari revs up a bit to win Al Taseera Ride at DIEC
  • Al Ansaari revs up a bit to win Al Taseera Ride at DIEC

Minor tweaks in the last phase of the CEN 119km Al Taseera Ride for Private Owners allowed Mira Jasim Mohammed Al Ansaari and Mustafa to score a vital win for Al Azem Stables and make its presence felt in the UAE’s endurance riding fraternity. Riding at an average speed of 26.75kph, Al Ansaari and Mustafa managed to complete the four stage 119km event at Dubai International Endurance City in a time of 4 hours 26 minutes and 52 seconds. It was a keenly fought event, with second placed Layla Mohammed Obaid Al Marzooqi recording 4:27:35 on the back of Al Kamda Endurance Stables-owned Rial Jazz.

Fahad Ali Hassan Mohammed riding Kurrajong Bazinga belonging to Al Fahidi Stud finished third with a time of 4:28:14, rounding off an all Emirati podium. Al Ansaari rode well all along and was hot on the heels of Saeed Hamoud Al Khayari, who was upstaged in the final 18km phase after managing to hold onto the lead over the first three phases. Al Ansaari, on the other hand, was second all along and capitalised over the final loop, landing the spoils by a narrow 43s margin after upping the ante with a measured increase of speed. Al Khayari lost the plot as he bid to ride between parameters, which led to him being surpassed by the top five.

He eventually finished sixth. In fourth and fifth place were Waad Nadim Bou Moghlbay of Lebanon and the UAE’s Ahmed Saleh Mohammed Al Shehhi, respectively. Moghlbay completed the ride aboard Gaifour Pride of Rakna Endurance Stables in a time of 4:33:01, while Al Shehhi clocked 4:33:20 on the back of Tonki Dee Boo Summa owned by Al Kamda Endurance Stables. It was Al Ansaari’s first success of the season and she was pleased to have ended her drought that extended all the way back to her success in the CEN 100km HH Sheikha Fatima bint Mubarak (Pvt Owners) Ladies Endurance Cup on 25 November 2017. Essa Al Adhab, the general manager of Dubai Equestrian Club, said he was pleased to see faces representing new stables take the podium. Al Adhab presented the winners with their trophies.

  • HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid

    HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum