Author: Nicholas Godfrey

152... Hollie Doyle

Hollie Doyle has broken her own record for victories in a calendar year, again. The dual Group One winning jockey rode her 152nd winner of 2021 with the Chris Walltrained Mustazeed at Doncaster last Friday, thereby surpassing last year’s mark of 121. Doyle, 25, first established a new record in 2019 with 117 wins, 11 more than the previous best mark set by Josephine Gordon’s 106 wins in 2017. “It is a great feeling to pass last year’s total and set a new record,” said Doyle, who landed the second Group One victory of her career via Trueshan’s Goodwood Cup success. “I am really grateful to all owners and trainers that have supported me this year and I hope that things keep moving forward as they have been,” she added. “Each year I aim to ride more winners and I want to improve in what I do all the time. I’m delighted to have achieved that goal and am pleased with how things have gone so far this year.”

4,300... Yutaka Take

Yutaka Take, the winningmost rider in the history of the Japan Racing Association, recorded his 4,300th victory on Japan’s premier circuit on Sunday’s Kikuka Sho card at Hanshin. Take, 52, partnered 3yo filly Super Wooper to win in the ninth race by half a length for globetrotting trainer Hideyuki Mori, at the track where the legendary jockey had recorded his first career success on Dyna Bishop in 1987. Take has 56 wins this year in Japan, where reigning champ Christophe Lemaire leads the way again with 157. Titleholder claimed the Kikuka Sho (Japanese St Leger) with a five length success, a never headed, effort for trainer Toru Kurita and jockey Takeshi Yokoyama. The latter was landijng his second Classic of 2021 after the Satsuki Sho with Efforia, where Titleholder was runner-up.

6,500... Alberto Paz

Alberto Paz Rodriguez, the leading trainer in Caribbean racing history, saddled the 6,500th winner of a long career a fortnight ago when Carmen’s Sense scored under jockey Yonis Lasso at the Hipódromo Presidente Remón in Panama City. Paz, 81, recorded his first victory more than 50 years ago with Pucalca on February 20, 1971. A regular winner at the prestigious Clasico del Caribe championship meeting, he has been Champion Trainer 37 times at home in Panama, where he is known as ‘Droopy’. Carmen’s Sense, who won the seventh, was completing a double for the trainer after the success of Gran Jefe Blanco in the third. According to statistics compiled by the Pagina de Turf website, Paz is tenth on the all time worldwide list, where Peruvianbased Juan Suarez Villaroel leads the way with 9,943 victories (as at Oct 22).

7,000... Mario Pino

Veteran jockey Mario Pino retired after racing last Friday, having reached the 7,000 career winner milestone the previous day at Presque Isle Downs in Pennsylvania. Delaware-born Pino, 60, rode a double on the Thursday card to hit 7,000, the crucial victory coming in the fourth race on Enjoy The Music. Pino, who rode his first winner at Bowie in Maryland in January 1979, rode another winner on Friday to take his final total to 7,001. Having spent the majority of his long career in the mid-Atlantic region, he stands tenth on the all time list in North America, where only two active riders: Perry Ouzts (7,241) and Edgar Prado (7,105), have ridden 7,000 winners. Russell Baze is all time leader in career victories with 12,842.

10... Aidan O’Brien

Luxembourg confirmed his status as favourite for next year’s Derby at Epsom with a solid victory in the Vertem Futurity, the final Group One of the season in Britain at Doncaster on Saturday. The son of Camelot, who won the same race in 2011, was a record equalling tenth winner of the 2yo contest for trainer Aidan O’Brien. Sir Henry Cecil also won ten times in its former guises as the Observer Gold Cup, William Hill Futurity and Racing Post Trophy. O’Brien’s ten winners are: Saratoga Springs (1997), Aristotle (1999), High Chaparral (2001), Brian Boru (2002), St Nicholas Abbey (2009), Camelot (2011), Kingsbarns (2012), Saxon Warrior (2017), Magna Grecia (2018) and Luxembourg (2021).

125 Niarchos Family

The Niarchos Family has been selected to receive the 2021 International Award of Merit, given annually by the International Federation of Horseracing Authorities to recognise distinguished horsemen and horsewomen for lifelong contributions to the sport. Maria Niarchos-Gouazé will accept the award on behalf of the leading owners and breeders, responsible for more than 125 Group or Grade One winners worldwide, at a special ceremony at Del Mar during the Breeders’ Cup meeting. Originally established by the late shipping magnate Stavros Niarchos in the 1950s, the family’s operation left an indelible mark on racing and breeding via the hugely influential Nureyev, the sire of dual Breeders’ Cup winner Miesque. Niarchos was the leading owner in France in 1983 and 1984 as well as the leading breeder in 1989, 1993 and 1994.