Register | Login
Home Important News

Appleby’s international achievements again recognised


Winner of International Trainer of the Year at the annual Horserace Writers & Photographers Association (HWPA) Derby Awards last year, Godolphin handler Charlie Appleby received the same accolade again for 2017 when the results were revealed on Monday. An award decided by the International Racing Bureau, the trainer won ahead of Karl Burke, Roger Charlton and John Gosden. Chris McGrath was announced as Racing Writer of the Year at the 51st such awards, winning the Clive Graham Trophy for a third time, the first two when writing for The Independent in 2007 and 2013, while this year’s award came for his work as Bloodstock Editor of the Racing Post.

He gained a higher number of votes among the HWPA membership than any of the three other nominees, Racing Post columnist Peter Thomas, the 2016 winner Tom Kerr (Racing Post) and Emma Berry, the European Editor of Thoroughbred Daily News. Alastair Down holds the record for the number of wins as Racing Writer of the Year, four. The Peter O’Sullevan Trophy for Broadcaster of the Year, founded in 2004, went to Luke Harvey, who works for ITV Racing and At The Races among others, for the first time.

The second award for a journalist, the John Oaksey Trophy for the Racing Reporter of the Year which is in its sixth year, also had a new winner, Marcus Armytage of The Daily Telegraph. The Photographer of the Year award, founded in 1997 and judged by a three-strong panel, was won for the fourth time by Dan Abraham, freelance photographer with Focusonracing, a major contributor to Al Adiyat, whose previous successes came in 2004, 2010 and 2015. The Picture of the Year award, inaugurated in 2012, went to debutante nominee Megan Ridgwell of Megan Rose Photography, with her winning photo depicting a sunset and a race at Chelmsford City Racecourse.

Last year’s Trainer of the Year Aidan O’Brien was voted HWPA Flat Trainer of the Year after a record breaking 2017 season, having also won the Flat Trainer of the Year award in 2001. Frankie Dettori enjoyed a tremendous 2017 and the Jockey of the Year in 2015 gained the 2017 Flat Jockey of the Year and has now won the award six times, having also landed it in 1990, 1994, 1995, 1996 and 2004. Prince Khalid Abdullah, who had the 2017 Horse of the Year Enable, became the Owner of the Year for the sixth time (previously 1986, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2014).

Seamus Buckley gained the George Ennor Trophy for Outstanding Achievement for his tremendous work as Goodwood’s Clerk of the Course after retiring recently. The HWPA President’s Award went to David Elsworth, whose training career started in 1978 and shows no signs of stopping just yet. The Purebred Arabian Award, to recognise outstanding achievement in Arabian racing, was won by The Royal Cavalry of Oman, owners and sponsors.

Details of the 2017 HWPA Derby Awards

International Trainer of the Year:  Charlie Appleby
Picture of the Year : Megan Ridgwell
Purebred Arabian Award:  The Royal Cavalry of Oman
Owner of the Year:  Khalid Abdullah
Jump Jockey of the Year:  Richard Johnson
Racing Reporter of the Year:  Marcus Armytage
Flat Trainer of the Year:  Aidan O’Brien
Jump Trainer of the Year:  Colin Tizzard
Trophy for Outstanding Achievement:  Seamus Buckley
Flat Jockey of the Year:  Frankie Dettori
Photographer of the Year:  Dan Abraham
Broadcaster of the Year:  Luke Harvey
HWPA President’s Award:  David Elsworth
Racing Writer of the Year: Chris McGrath


Share this on:


07 Aug 2018
Issue Number: Issue 647
Seemar can only hope for another upward performance from North America
Dubai playing a key role in British racing, says Jockey Club boss
Busybody Tadhg looks to scale mountains after climbing Hills
Nass’ trial and error style seems to be working wonders for him
Please Select Racing Type For Calender

Online Vote

Number of races in the season